Build workflows using Drive documents, with an approval process and email notifications.
A Google Drive folder will be used to store all new files created in the workflow. Overdrive will sync this folder with Drive - any items created in the folder will appear in Drive and vice versa. Workflow uses Drive permissions, including central ownership of all files, so you can set up a page that is as tightly controlled or as open as you need it to be - simply set up the Drive folder with the correct permissions for the users you are inviting into the workflow. A few key things to note about Drive permissions:
Choose the file from Google Drive to be used as a template for the workflow. Workflow currently allows you to use the following file types:
All newly created workflow items will be owned by this user. The selected owner must be an Overdrive Editor and have Edit access to the folder, plus at least View access to the Template.
Choose one or more users who will be invited to approve workflow items. All approvers receive an email when approval is requested. They can approve or reject.
Note: Approvers are not Assignees unless explicitly assigned. An Assignee is the user that has responsibility for the workflow item. The assignee is initially the creator of the item.
Add the text to appear on the + button that is used to add new items.
Set the text that will show when a user clicks the + button.
Set the default file name for each item created. There are a few tricks to help you create standard file names. The following special markers can be used in the New File Name box:
For example, if you want every file created in your workflow to be a standard name followed by a sequential number and today's date, try: Press Release: #### - @date YYYY-MM-DD@
Choose how to display newly created items ie what the user sees after clicking the "New" button and naming the item.
Any Overdrive Editor can add a new workflow item by clicking on the + button.
When a file is ready for approval the assignee can request approval by clicking the Request Approval button whilst viewing/editing the file.
A file can be approved by any Approver by clicking the Approve button.
A file can be rejected by any approver by clicking the Reject button.
Users can re-assign an item by clicking the Reassign button when viewing the file. The new assignee is given Edit access to the file and notified by email
At each stage of the workflow assignees or approvers can add notes. All notes can be viewed in History when viewing/editing a file.